Skating by…

So earlier this week, the Lish and I had a little date night. I had to help my father with something after work, so we both met up at the place, just as if we were dating. The venue? Rollerskating!

Lace 'em up, bitches!

Lace ’em up, bitches!

I’ll start this out by admitting that I’m pretty good on skates…or at least I have been in the past. I used to skate a ton when I was younger, especially in college when my car was out of commission and I did ~14 miles per day on blades between school and work. So yeah, I’ve done this before. The Lish has shown interest in trying out for a roller derby league, so it’s pretty fresh in mind. The place has open skate for adults at night, so we went down. I was quick to jump on it since it’s been about 2 years since I’ve been on blades, and I miss the hell out of it. I figured we’d go down, I’d look and feel all cool cuz I’m pretty good at it, and we’d have a nice time. What I didn’t expect, however, was that apparently the adult skate nights are attended by the fucking cast of Roll Bounce!

Seriously?

Seriously?

I’m not even joking here. Sure, there were 4 or 5 people there who were pretty new to skating, but literally everyone else was spinning, dancing, and sliding around like I was in Goldmember’s Studio 69! I was actually a tiny bit embarassed because I never really learned to do 180’s or skate backwards. Still, it was a great time, and quite a sight. The other skaters were so amazing and made it look so easy and natural, and the music pumping was exactly what a roller disco should be. Lots of great older R&B, and some newer stuff, but all tunes that you could really groove to. People were dancing with each other, doing crazy spin moves, and skating the entire rink backwards at high speeds while weaving in and out of people. The best part of it all? Everyone was smiling! It was really a happy time for everyone involved, like a small community that I never knew existed. I was definitely in the minority with my pale skin, long hair, and tattoos, and I didn’t get ANY weird looks from people or bad vibes. Everyone was cool, and it was just as much fun to watch as it was to skate….well, almost. We’ll be going again, and I can’t wait. I’d forgotten how much I love it, and didn’t realize I missed it as much as I did. Seriously good times!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

