Get off your ass and live

I’ve been thinking a lot about the change in lifestyle that I’ve gone through over the past 10 years, and had some ideas to look up. I was actually not surprised that this has been studied lately, and it’s not exactly good news.

mortazavi20111107070115250

Actual photo of me at work, minus the stapler…

I used to have a very active lifestyle. I was always outside doing shit, I had a job in warehousing that involved a lot of moving around, and typically the only times I sat were movies, some tv/video games, and driving. Now, I sit in the car, sit all day at work, sit almost the entire time I’m home, and don’t really do shit otherwise on a regular basis. This actually does get to me quite a bit, since I enjoy being active during the day. I’ve found that I’m much more tired over the past few years, and get depressed when I’m not able to actually DO something during the day.

220px-En-chief-sitting-bull

Pretty sure he started the disease.

Now you might say, “But Persona, I work out every day, so I’m immune to this shit!”. Well, according to some researchers, you’re actually not. The term for you would be a ‘Active Couch Potato’. You’ll still suffer from the same kinda shit, just slightly less severe. “Severe?”, yes, severe. Sitting on your ass all the time is linked to increased risks of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, depression, etc. Experts have labeled this epidemic the “sitting disease”. Don’t kid yourself, it’s real, and it DOES affect you if you lead a sedentary lifestyle.

JustStandInfoGraphicV3

Scary shit, no joke.

 

Now you might be asking yourself “What can I do?”. Well, apart from seeking out a more active method of employment, I have no answer for you. Some say to take activity breaks every so often to walk around and do something, but how effective that would be is anyone’s guess. Could be completely negligible, who knows? What I can give is a bit of anecdotal proof. When I was in warehousing, I felt much healthier, had much more energy, and didn’t feel as much “vague depression” or depression that has no apparent trigger or reason. Don’t try googling that term, I just made it up, so there! Don’t get me wrong, I did suffer from bad depression years ago, but I KNEW what I was depressed about. Now it’s just an overall malaise with nothing standing out to prove causation. I assume that this lifestyle of being plopped on my ass all the time is a large factor, since times when I’m very active during the day, I tend to feel much better. I guess only time will tell.

W--My%20Pictures-sittingdisease

The End.

So stay active, my friends, cuz studies are showing that even with advanced medical technology, if we sit on our asses all day, we’re gonna all die earlier. I dunno about you, but I’m REALLY not cool with that. Oh, and if you’re a smoker still, then you’re doubly fucked. Congrats!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

