America, the beautiful?

snow-storm-sfSpan

What storm, it’s just a couple of flakes….

Yesterday, we got a wee bit buried in a surprise snowstorm. I say surprise, since nobody expressed any concern about it until after it was upon us, which seems to happen at least once a year. I’m not sure what the deal is with the yearly ninja snowstorm, but it allowed me to remain home and work remotely, which was good. I prefer not have to drive to work in that shit, not because of my own driving ability, but because other Long Islanders seem incapable of driving in snow, even though it happens every fucking year. While working, however, I ended up doing what I said I wouldn’t do anymore. I got involved in debates on Facebook.

As you might have heard by now, since it was trending like a motherfucker yesterday, there was a Coke ad during the superbowl that starched the shorts of a bunch of people. I spent a fair amount of the day, on and off, debating people about this, not that it did any good. It did, however, give me a good reason to bitch about something else, but I’ll get there. The ad in question, which I’ll embed below, had a bunch of different people singing “America, the beautiful”, all in different languages (yes, English was one of them). It was actually a really nice commercial, reminding us that our country is built of (mostly) immigrants who came here in search of a better life. They showed that this country is beautiful because it’s full of beautiful diverse people. It serves as a reminder that our country is a melting pot, with different cultures intertwined, and that this is something that should be accepted and embraced. However, for a shitload of uptight people, this isn’t how it was universally taken.

tumblr_laivjlhWNJ1qbar0u

All are susceptible.

Quite a few people were bitching about it because they feel that song is sacred, and should only be sung in English. Some of them said it was because it’s our national anthem, which it isn’t. Some said it’s because English is our national language, which it isn’t. I even saw a few people that said they’d now boycott Coke because there was a Muslim in the commercial. It seems that the intolerance that many races and nationalities were supposedly escaping, came with them after all. There is a huge trend in our country that’s focusing on assimilation. Basically, if you don’t abandon your ancestral culture for wings, Bud, football, and BBQs, then you don’t belong here. I understand their point about not speaking English. After all, even though it’s not technically our national language, it’s spoken predominantly in the US. If you’re a citizen, you should learn the language, which is a requirement for pretty much every other first world country. But this xenophobic view, where something like this is seen as insulting the spirit and/or patriotism of our nation, just comes off as short sighted and uneducated. We’re a nation of immigrants, we’re a blend. That’s what made us strong. This all just reeks of fear, as if embracing something like that would somehow appear as though they don’t love their country or some shit. Wanna be proud of the US? Then you can be tolerant, work together, not be a fucking bigot, read some history books, and be a part of us taking steps FORWARD, and not backward. Granted, this is America and they have every right to be intolerant, all I’m saying is that may not be the best route to go if we want to advance as a country and society, especially since it just breeds hate.

huh

Mr. Miyagi speaks the truth!

Anyways, onto my rant. I know, you thought that was it, but nope. Don’t worry, it’ll be short. The majority of the people who bitched about this are conservatives. This shouldn’t really come as a surprise to anyone. The thing that twists my nuts is that people consider ME a conservative because of some of my views on topics. I HATE when people lump me in with them, just as I HATE when people lump me in with the liberals. I’m a middle of the road kinda guy, when it comes to politics. I do my fact checking, check the available information, and make my decisions based on logic as opposed to emotion. Unfortunately, this has the result of pissing off both sides, and I get into “discussions” rather frequently, usually on Facebook. I’ve been trying to not engage anymore, since all it really does is aggravate me. This topic kinda broadsided me, since I was really amazed at the amount of people saying they were boycotting Coke now because of this. I just hope that, one day, they can look back and see the message for what it actually was, and be thankful that we live in such a diverse place full of different cultures. It’s awesome, if for no other reason than its ability to keep things interesting…

 

Oh yeah, ‘Murica!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “America, the beautiful?”

  1. Dragon says :

    Theodore Roosevelt on Immigrants and being an AMERICAN

    Are we “SLOW LEARNERS” or what?

    Theodore Roosevelt on Immigrants and being an AMERICAN

    “In the first place we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the man’s becoming in very fact an American, and nothing but an American…There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn’t an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag, and this excludes the red flag, which symbolizes all wars against liberty and civilization, just as much as it excludes any foreign flag of a nation to which we are hostile…We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language…and we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people.”

    Theodore Roosevelt 1907

    So shut your pie whole, English is our language, you liberal **deleted**!

    • Mr. Persona Non Grata says :

      First off, not a liberal. Second off, it isn’t our official language as a country. Do some research.

      I get that people who gain citizenship are American and owe allegiance to this country, but that doesn’t discount the celebration of our differences and origins.

  2. Dragon says :

    For the last 100 years it has been the English, I don’t care if the Native American language is what you are referring to, but it wasn’t the US of A. When we declared our Independence, we were English speaking. Good enough for me, and if you are a conservative, this rag you call writing, sounds like a, “Let me be to smoke pot” post. You honestly have a screwed up sense of the US, I would probably guess you are maybe a second generation at best panty waist. Either that, you just got off the boat. In either case, if you don’t like English speaking language, why do you write in it?

Leave a Reply

