Freedom of choice, I choose you!

In recent years, a trend has started that is taking away our freedoms. We are being left with more limited options, and I fear it’s only gonna get worse. I remember, years ago, being able to go out and get all sorts of stuff to bring home and enjoy. Unfortunately, though, we are now faced with a partial scarcity, and I fear it will get worse, leading many of us to resort to criminal activity. I’m talking, of course, about the availability of shitty B movies for rent.

I'll never let go, Jack!!!

I’ll never let go, Jack!!!

I never realized how much the downfall of Hollywood video and Blockbuster affected me until recently. I noticed it when I was reminiscing about being able to go to these stores and choose the most horrendous B horror movie on the rack to take home and enjoy with friends. It was something I really enjoyed, and miss very much.

Admit it, you're intrigued!!!

Admit it, you’re intrigued!!!

Now, with the vast majority of content becoming purely digital and available from your couch, rental stores have fallen off the map, replaced only by random Red Box machines outside of the 7-11. Granted, there are some B movies to be found on Netflix, PSN, Xbox, and Amazon VoD, but it’s not enough.Also, many of these movies are only available as an online purchase to own, and not a rental. It’s not the same. You can’t just go and rent that awful movie you remember from years ago, because they most likely won’t have them online.

The only real alternative is piracy. Downloading ripped version of these movies to watch instead of renting. The other alternative would be to actually purchase them, but who wants to pay 10 bucks for a copy of Ice Crawlers with shipping? Not this guy. So we’re stuck now.

Classically awful!!!

Classically awful!!!

We’re gonna see more of this. Our content will be picked and filtered by those who provide the services, based on rate of return or something like it. Awfully awesome movies will be left to Syfy (changing from sci-fi to syfy is still fucking lame), and even then it’s few and far between. We need better options for movies like Sharktopus, because they make this horrible world more bearable. I hope someone decides to open a new local video store, one with both good and awful movies. I’ll support the shit outta them!!!

Fuck yeah, kid!!!

Fuck yeah, kid!!!

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Freedom of choice, I choose you!”

  1. jgoldschrafe says :

    If Blockbuster was still in business around here, it would be close to that $10 for a 5-day rental of Ice Crawlers anyway. Nostalgia never brings memories along for the inflation ride.

  2. Jackie R. says :

    I would frequent your establishment if you opened one.

  3. Caitlin Edmonson Carroll says :

    I’m seriously thinking we should rent the place across from my Mom’s office & you could run your IT business in the back & out front would be our movie rental store.

Leave a Reply

