The devil inside

Last night I had a decision to make. There were no more TV shows on my DVR to watch, so it was off to my PS3 to see which movies I had on there for my viewing pleasure. I decided that I’d finally watch the movie Devil, by M. Night Shyamalan. This was on my brother’s suggestion, since we have very similar taste in movies, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

Love in an elevator…

M. Night and I haven’t seen eye to eye since the village. I liked the sixth sense, signs, and unbreakable as well. His other movies were lackluster, and the last airbender was pretty bad. Honestly, I wouldn’t even have given this movie a chance if it weren’t for the recommendation. I’m glad I did.

Spoiler Alert

Predictable doesn’t mean bad…

Devil was a surprisingly fun and interesting horror/suspense flick. The movie is about a bunch of people in an elevator that gets stuck. One of the people is possessed by the devil, and people start getting hurt. There’s more to it than that, but that’s the basic premise. There’s no big twist at the end, but there doesn’t have to be. It’s your usual horror flick as far as predictability goes. I guessed the killer the second the elevator got stuck. Regardless of that, it was a very fun and cool flick.

 

True Wonka wisdom.

I’m really not sure why people hated it so much. I guess when you have a few really kick ass movies to start out with, people expect that magic every time. It doesn’t work that way. I’ve loved most of James Cameron’s work, but Avatar was a gigantic suckfest, and a complete waste of my time. I have absolutely zero interest in ever seeing it again. Spielberg had E.T., A.I., and the latest Indiana Jones: The kingdom full of shitty writers. Regardless of his lesser flicks,  this movie was actually enjoyable, and I’m fully glad I watched it. Some people just take shit way too seriously….

the raptor has a point….hmmmmm

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The devil inside”

  1. Jackie R. says :

    LOL @Raptor.

    Mr. Shyamalan lost me after the Village. I was so annoyed by that movie, that I didn’t bother to see anything else after it. That said, I don’t care who directed it: being trapped in an elevator is a particularly potent phobia of mine, so I might have to skip this one,

  2. Caitlin Edmonson Carroll says :

    I agree with Jackie on The Village being AWFUL, but it didn’t hold a candle to the suckiness that was “Lady In The Water”. Oh & babe? Yeah, the really annoying Salesman guy? He’s married to your girl in RL. Which girl you ask?

    Christina Hendricks.

    Sorry…just imagining your mind exploding right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

