Unforgiven for all the wrong reasons

Alright kids, today’s rant lesson will be about forgiveness. This is somewhat of a touchy subject for some people. There are those who can forgive rather easily, and those who hold grudges forever, as well as all combinations in between. I’m going to lay out some of my feelings on the subject.

Image

Forgive? Perhaps. Forget? I think not…

I fully believe that there are certain things that should NEVER be forgiven. For example, if I were to find out my best friend and my wife have been having an affair, or even a one night stand, then neither would ever be forgiven. Basically, a real betrayal of trust, love, and/or friendship. Things of this nature don’t fall under the 3 strikes and you’re out rule. Most times, it’s instant banishment. Now I know many people say forgiveness is divine and right and blah blah blah. Bullshit. If someone rapes your daughter during her morning jog through the park, there isn’t a force on this earth that could make me forgive him. Healthy or not, that’s just the way it is, and I cannot even fathom how people can forgive true atrocities.

Image

unless they betrayed you….

Most other things, though, I can see forgiving. Much of the petty bullshit, and even some other slightly serious stuff that may have been done without even knowing the repercussions. For example, if my wife had an affair with a man who had no idea she wasn’t single, I could hardly blame the man. Were I single, I could easily fall into the same trap. Now I will share 2 stories of forgiveness that have been on my mind recently.

First, though, a DISCLAIMER! Should you read this next section and know the parties involved, other than myself, please keep specifics out of the comments. I’m not here to roast people alive publicly. This is, after all, all about me, not them.

Image

Sometimes you use up your quota with one action…

For risk of an insanely long post, I’ll just stick with the highlights. I dated a girl, and we broke up. Awhile later, we starting hanging out again, and I wanted to get back with her. I knew a friend of mine wanted to sleep with her, so I asked him to please respect my feelings and not pursue her. He gave me his word that he wouldn’t do anything with her, and broke it. He went after her, slept with her, and tried keeping it from me. I found out a few weeks later, and we had it out. I stopped talking to both of them for a time, and eventually started talking to him again. I know why he did it, he knew that I’d give him one more chance if he pretended to be truly sorry for what he did. I’m still friends with him, but it’ll never be what it once was or could have been. It’s not because he fucked some girl, it’s because he swore on our friendship that I was more important to him than just getting off on a new conquest. That cut the deepest, the outright selfishness and betrayal. Whether other people think it’s petty or not, I’ll never be able to forgive something like that, and if I’ve done something like that to anyone, I don’t think I should be forgiven either.

Image

Once again, Boromir is right…

The second story goes like this. (prepare for recurring theme) I started hanging with a new group of people through a mutual friend. A girl in said group was dating a guy, and we’d all hung out plenty of times. Girl and guy end up breaking up almost a year later. A few weeks after that, girl expresses interest in yours truly, and we hook up. Bear in mind, I wasn’t actually friends with the dude. We’d hung out maybe 4 or 5 times, and we didn’t really click as friends. We were more of acquaintances. So, guy then begins to utterly hate me. Now, I know what you’re thinking “I’d hate you too if you started dating my ex whom I’d cared about”. Well, that’s not really why he hated me. He was somehow under the impression that she was cheating on him with me while they were dating, AND that I was the one that did the wooing and went after her, which I absolutely did NOT do. Let’s face it, I wasn’t exactly don-fucking-juan back in the day, I was more of a clueless tool. I was struck almost speechless when she said she liked me. Suave motherfucker, that’s me. So he still hates me to this day, and for his reasons I would too. Problem is, his reasons aren’t true. I don’t mind people hating me, lord knows I’ve given tons of people good reason to, but if you’re gonna hate, do it for the right reasons. Don’t hate someone for doing something they didn’t do.

So there you go.  If you have specific thoughts on the subject, let me know in the comments.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Unforgiven for all the wrong reasons”

  1. Jackie R. says :

    I forgive easily. Maybe too easily. But I never, ever forget.
    it’s not holding a grudge, as it doesn’t really enter the equation UNLESS you do something else. Then that infraction will be added to the first. It’s left some people surprised that they’ve been cut off when to their mind they’ve done something very minor.

Leave a Reply

