Coxsacco and Vanzetti beat my ass

I know I promised to post much more often, but I do have a good excuse to have missed the past week. I’ve literally been laid up, sick as hell, for the past week. Now I can regale you all with what happened, so prepare to be either bored, grossed out, or both.

Two weeks ago, both kids got Coxsackie Virus. Little man had it first, was messed up with fevers for about a day and a half, then got the rash all over his body. The rash wasn’t itchy or painful, and it didn’t touch his face or mouth. Little girl had fevers the same amount of time, a few small sores in her throat, but otherwise had a milder case.

Image

Not even cowbell could break this fever….

I woke up last Monday morning feeling really off. I thought it was because I hadn’t slept well the night before, and I get that way sometimes when I haven’t slept because I have anxiety issues that come out when I’m run down. We were set to go to the park with the kids and some friends, so I said let’s just go, and I’ll deal. I was freezing cold, and felt really horrible. When we got there, I was still feeling fucked up, so I went to go lay down in the car. About an hour later, when the wife came by, I was burning up. We decided that it was time to go see the doctor.

We headed home to drop off the kids, and then headed out to the medicenter (since getting an actual appointment with my doctor the same day is harder than gaining audience with the king…err, president…you see my confusion). Wifey called, and they were closed, so we just turned around and headed home, since I didn’t want to do the ER thing for a fever. We got home, I lay down in bed, and my angel of mercy brought in a laptop to play movies so I could tune out and sleep. After about 15 minutes or so of me shivering under piles of blankets, she decided it was time to take my temp. After clocking in at 104.3 degrees F, I conceded that the ER may be necessary after all.

It wasn’t just my fever that drove us to this conclusion, it was also the fact that I was completely delirious, talking to myself, and was probably hallucinating. Hard to remember, honestly.

Image

I always wanted to be special.

We get to the hospital, and I get dumped into a wheelchair. I’m basically just staring into nothing like Robert DeNiro in Awakenings. I was pretty unresponsive too. They got me in, gave me fluids, Toradol, and hot blankets. Once the fever broke, they kept me a bit longer, since my blood pressure was 88/37. They eventually sent me home with the diagnosis that I had, in fact, gotten Coxsackie. This is unusual, since my kids’ pediatrician told us that adults couldn’t get it, but apparently something like 2% of adults get it too, and as you all know, 2% is the name of my wheelhouse.

The first few days were just full of high fevers and very sore throat. Every time I swallowed, it was pretty much like trying to swallow a mouthful of broken glass. Thankfully, after the fevers broke, I got to keep that part. Wednesday the rash started, and Thursday it kicked into full swing. The sores on my hands hurt, especially when I showered, like I had burns covering them. My mouth also filled with sores like canker sores. I’ve had those before, but usually only one or two at a time. This time, I was treated to several dozen. I literally could not eat solid foods at this point because of the pain. Before this, I’d had a few bowls of soup, but stopped because the sores on my tongue burned very painfully whenever I ate.

Image

Actual shot of the rash on my hand.

I ended up only having water and milk, since those were the only things that didn’t kill. Over the weekend I ventured out to GNC, and got some high calorie shake powder and I’ve been making some shakes to stave off the hunger as much as possible, as well as taking multivitamins. Not the greatest diet, but it’s what I’ve got. It felt like I had the goddamn plague. My hands have stopped hurting now, but the rash is still there. My mouth is in slightly less pain, but I still have sores that hurt. Overall, I’d say this is one of the worst diseases I’ve ever had. There were nights where I couldn’t sleep because of the pain, I’ve had no energy, couldn’t eat, and couldn’t come into contact with anyone due to being highly contagious.

So in closing, if a doctor says you “can’t” get something, remember the words of old 2% here, and don’t fucking believe them. Take precautions anyways! Take vitamins! Eat right! Be smart! Basically, do everything I don’t do!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Coxsacco and Vanzetti beat my ass”

  1. Annette says :

    damn man…does that suck.
    I think that out-craps Pertussis for adults. I mean, it’s one thing to be coughing all night and puke from coughing a few times…it’s another to be freaking hallucinating and have 104 temp…and itchy and ouchy.
    We are creating mega viruses and super germs with all the damn anti-bacterial soap and gel. In the end, the folks who don’t bathe will survive LOL

    • Mr. Persona Non Grata says :

      Though I’ve never had Pertussis, from what I’ve heard, I’d have to disagree. Unstoppable bouts of coughing for more than 30 seconds, vomiting, and the fact that it lasts 6 FUCKING WEEKS, all combine to make it horrible. This shit sucks hard for the short term, Pertussis for the long term. Long bouts of sickness just wear on you. Hope you all get better soon! I should be ok in a few weeks.

  2. Annette says :

    I think we are on the moderate-mild side…
    …now mind you…I wrote the above statement, then had to jump up from the couch because little E coughed and spit up his whole dinner onto both of us…but for my case, not like that…for babies, horrific. The strange part though is with the exception of 3 days in there for the boys, you would not even know they were sick. It’s really weird…then, they have a coughing fit and you’re like “OMG!”

Leave a Reply

