Wussify the world…..

Image

All full up, ready to chew bubblegum and kick ass, and I’m all out of bubblegum….

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the state of society in general, and how it relates to my perception of society when I was growing up. The result of this line of thought, has left me feeling a mixture of anger, frustration, and sadness. I grew up in one world, but now I’m living it another, and there’s a lot about this other one that really pisses me off. I’ll go through some of my gripes here, in my usual stream-of-consciousness style! Heh, I’m pretending to have STYLE today! Go me!

Image

Guess I zigged when I should’ve zagged….

First off, our kids are being groomed to be pansies by society. Go to a school and check out the programs, it’s ridiculous. No dodgeball was the start, now it turned into no competition….EVER! My nephew goes to school, and they’re having their field day this week. Problem is, they call it something different, and EVERYONE is on thesame team! Are you fucking kidding me?! What are we telling kids, here? “Don’t worry buddy, there’s no competitiveness in the real world, and it’s a concept you’ll never have to deal with.” Doing this to children just breeds a bunch of spoiled little fucks who end up as self-entitled pricks, who can’t handle what life throws at them, and who are not equipped to understand life in the ‘real world’. Thankfully, my nephew is also in tons of sports, and was raised to understand these things by his parents. But, as we all know, many parents today take little interest in the actual raising of their children. They seem more interested in themselves and their work than in preparing their children for survival on their own.

Image

Hey, I think I know that kid….

Image

Follow the bus’s advice!

Speaking of which, the self-entitlement craze is getting WAY out of hand. People bitch and get hurt feelings if they don’t succeed at things or are passed over in any way. “Why not just work harder to get what you want?”, you say? Nonsense! I’d rather complain about how unfair it is. This doesn’t just relate to the workplace. TONS of people I know get horribly offended if they aren’t invited to something, or aren’t told about a particular happening. You seriously have got to be kidding me. If you aren’t invited to something, or aren’t told about something, then one of two things happened. Either you were missed unintentionally, or you were left out on purpose. If it’s the former, it’s an honest mistake, so accept it. Everyone makes them. If it was on purpose, then you deal the same way. Accept it. If everyone included everyone who “might” be interested in something, shit would get to be such a chore that they wouldn’t wanna do anything anymore! If I’m not invited to something, sure I might get upset or irritated, but I accept it and let it go. Do you know why? Because I’m a fucking adult, and that’s what grown ups do! So suck it up and rub some dirt in it!

Image

Santa was obviously demeaning these people….

This leads me into the next issue, one that started during my teens, and has since gotten WAY out of hand. Political correctness. This entire trend of being offended because someone said something that disagrees with what you personally feel or believe, it absolutely childish, stupid, and incredibly illogical. A big example of this is religion. If someone says they don’t believe in god, or if a teacher alludes to the fact that god might not have created everything, the believers get all up-in-arms about it. Guess what folks, it you didn’t have a doubt in your mind, they why is it offensive. If I believe in the love I have for my children, and someone says that they don’t believe in it, that doesn’t bother me one bit. Know why? It’s because I’m completely devout in that belief. If I wasn’t, it might prompt a response similar to those we see from these groups. The fact that some schools can’t teach about dinosaurs because it offends the creationists, sickens me to no end.

Next up, people playing the blame game. Blaming their parents and/or childhood for making them into the serial killer they become, or blaming those same things for their failures in life. Guess what folks, if you know that this shit is holding you back, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! Personally, I went through some horrible shit when I was a kid, both at home and at school. You know what? I didn’t let it prevent me from trying my hardest to be a good person, because that’s what I WANTED to be. I wanted it so bad, that I strove for it regardless of what was in my way. I’m not saying I’m exceptional or anything, I’m saying that this should be normal! The problem is, people are fucking lazy as shit. They don’t wanna take responsibility for their own actions. They barely even wanna TAKE action to do for themselves. They seem to just want to sit on the couch watching TV, not caring, then blaming bullshit for their inadequacies. Suck it up, wake up, and do for yourself, cuz mommy and daddy won’t be around to bail your ass out forever!

***UPDATE*** The next section has been updated, since the initial posted did not include some very important specifics which clarify my position. This is what I get for posting stream of consciousness with a brain that runs too fast. My sincerest apologies to any who got the wrong impression.

Finally, fat people. Yeah, I know, I’ll be getting tons of hatemail for this section, but fuck it. People who let obesity run rampant, will suffer a loss of respect from me. Granted, there are exceptions to this rule, such as folks who are healthy and just big. I know a few people like that, and one in particular has more stamina and is more healthy than I’ve been in about a decade. I do understand that many factors affect or cause obesity, such as diet, how sedentary someone is, hormonal imbalance, genetics, metabolism, medication, and various psychological and/or medical issues.   That being said, if you’re horribly overweight, and you aren’t or haven’t taken steps to rectify it, fucking do something about it!!! There’s a laziness in people, that I mentioned before, that just enables people to say ‘fuck it, I’m watching TV’ or whatever, and not taking care of themselves. Some even feel entitled to eat whatever they want, simply because they can. The reason this sickens me, in that it’s incredibly illogical. If you’re one of these people, you’re basically saying that this need to eat whatever you want, whenever you want, is more important than your health or longevity. You’ll end up killing yourself slowly, and for what? Food? Fuck that! I’d much rather live a longer life, and pass on the package of Oreos. This is much of the reason I have an issue with this. Normally, I can pretty much live and let live and not give a shit, but when what is acceptable in society can potentially take away those I care about the most, I get overcome with anger. I don’t want my friends or family to go before their time, and my frustration and fear is born from the idea that I have no control or power over it. I just watch people let it go, knowing that someday I’ll have to let them go, and for what?

Don’t get me wrong here, I don’t hate fat people. If someone is big and just can’t trim down no matter what, then what more could I ask? I DO have massive respect for the folks who see this shit, and do something about it. Some of my closest friends have weight problems, some really bad, and they finally said “screw this, I wanna be healthy and live a better life”, and are changing it. I’m proud to announce that they’re all doing very well, and are well on their way to optimal health. If you don’t choose to do anything about it, then you’re part of America’s problem, and that problem has little to do with your weight, and everything to do with why you have a weight problem.

To sum up, folks, I’ll just say this. Take control of your lives. Stop allowing acceptable excuses to enable your laziness and shitty behavior. What you want is out there, and a better life is out there. Get off your ass, pony up, and take it. Nobody gives a shit about giving you your dreams…other than you….

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Wussify the world…..”

  1. Jackie R. says :

    By and large, I agree with a lot of what you’re saying, but here’s a little bit of that “hatemail” that you were expecting for the fat people thing. As you are a slim person (and you are slim, to my knowledge you have never been clinically obese) it may seem as though it’s just some fat person’s inability to put down the ho-hos that has caused them to become obese. I assure you, it is a much more complicated issue than that.

    I am not making excuses for people — myself included. I know that I have made some poor choices in my life and that have contributed to my current physique, but there are also things that I have no control over, but am fighting constantly with little success. I’m certainly not unique either. While yeah there are plenty of people who spend their days couch surfing and eating garbage, there are just as many who are trying fucking HARD to stay healthy, and it’s a terrible uphill battle all while you have EVERYONE thinking that you’re some sort of waste of life who doesn’t deserve any peace or support because you “did it to yourself” and if you’d just “put down the oreos” you’d find your way to skinny.

    For some people it’s an economic issue. I touched on this a little with the food post that Cat made the other day — we’re incredibly spoiled in this area in that we have an almost unlimited supply of fresh and healthy foods available to us. It’s not always about cost, it’s about availability. You go to some of the areas where there are huge pockets of extremely obese people and you will find that while there may be a fast food joint every block, fresh produce and groceries that aren’t packaged foods are hard to come by.

    For others it is a psychological or medical issue — hormonal imbalance has long been used as an excuse, but it’s real. Sometimes just putting on some weight can send your hormones into a tailspin causing more weight gain. It could be depression, or OCD, or anxiety, or any other number of psychological problems. It could be the medication you’re taking. It can be genetics — some people will just never be heavy. Take Kevin for example. If you saw what that man eats regularly, you’d be shocked, yet he weighs the same if not less than he did when we got together, whereas I do not eat garbage all that often, am relatively active (and always have been) and I still look the way I do. It can be a cultural issue. It can also be a “I’m just too lazy to give a fuck” issue, but I suspect that in a majority of THOSE cases, you will find that there’s another one of the above issues lingering in the background.

    Recently, HBO put out a 4 part documentary series called The Weight of The Nation. I thought it was fascinating, and it brought up a lot of the issues we as a society face in regards to the obesity problem in this country. I could go on and on about this issue, but they put it better than I could. I suggest you watch it. It probably won’t do anything to stop you from hating fat people, but maybe the next time you see a fat person, your first thought won’t be “lazy pig”, and you might consider that there’s probably a lot more going on than just a complete lack of willpower.

    • Mr. Persona Non Grata says :

      As I said above, there are some people who will always be bigger people. My cousin is a prime example. He eats well, and works out by swimming a few MILES!!! Still, he’s big, and most likely always will be. Keep in mind, hormonal imbalances can be regulated, and psychological issues can be overcome. Trust me, I’ve been there, and it was hell for a few years, but I busted my ass and got over it. During this time, I put on 50lbs in about 3 months. I’ve lost some of the weight, but not much, and I know it’s because of my lack of exercise and eating habits.

      Genetics is really the only issue someone could have that can’t be overcome, aside from some sort of disease or disorder whose medication results in weight gain.

      If all someone has access to is fast food, then reduce portion size. One can take in the same # of calories without pounding down the whole value meal!

      And BTW, I’m well aware of your exercise level and eating habits, as we’ve had this conversation before. You’re in good health, as far as your doctor told you and you told me. As such, you aren’t really part of the point I was getting at. Obesity leads to TONS of health problems, which leads to shortened longevity. While there are exceptions to the rule, the majority, IMHO, are not exceptions. The lifestyle and culture make it acceptable to do what they do. If all I have locally is fast food, go somewhere else or live somewhere else. They even have programs that will deliver fresh produce to your house, or you can grow your own, so long as you have the land. There ARE options, and I’d personally rather pay a little more to live longer.

      Oh, and I don’t “hate” fat people, but when I see someone who’s 300lbs+ ordering a supersized value meal at a fast food joint, I lose all sympathy for them whatsoever! I once saw a guy who was so fat he couldn’t walk around, and had one of those scooters…..who drove that scooter through the drive through at Taco Bell….no bullshit!

      • Jackie R. says :

        Ok. I hate using language like this because typically it comes around in circles that I find sanctimoniously PC and obnoxious, but you my friend, are speaking from your position of privilege.

        You make a lot of assumptions up there. Basically, if you can do it, then anyone can do it.

        First of all, you are educated. You understand the direct correlation between what you put in your mouth, and your health. It’s hard to grasp the fact that some people just don’t *know*, but they don’t. This is how they were raised, the culture they are in, the lifestyle of everyone around them. All the PSAs and pamphlet campaigns in the world are as effective as drizzle in a desert. You’ve gotta change the landscape from the inside out.

        If all psychological hangups were easy to get over, therapists wouldn’t have jobs, mental health facilities would close, the Self-Help section of the book store would be empty, people wouldn’t commit suicide, or go off the deep end completely. This is all assuming that they can get treatment at all. Not everyone can pull themselves up by the proverbial bootstraps, but health insurance is scarce for many and the stigma of mental health is real (even if only to the person affected).

        The same goes for going to a general physician. Since you’ve never been obese, let me tell you what it’s like to go to the doctor. EVERYTHING is “because you’re fat”. Knee hurts because you twisted it playing basketball? Lose weight. Head hurts? Lose weight. Sore throat? Lose weight. There is a lot of shame involved, which is why a lot of heavy people avoid doctors completely. I could tell you story after story about how I’ve been treated by doctors across the board because a lot of people in the medical community equate fat shaming with motivation, but I won’t. It wouldn’t register to you anyway.

        You also assume that because you can get up and move or go somewhere that has other options, other people can too. This same logic was used during Hurricane Katrina, when people questioned why “those people didn’t just leave”. It’s because not everyone has the means or opportunity to do so. You’re willing to pay a little more because you *can*.

        And of course no one “hates” fat people — except that they do. If it were really about health, your language would reflect that. Instead you hate what fat represents to you — sloth, laziness, etc.

        Watch that documentary. I think it might learn you something. I love you , dearly, but you’re off base on this one.

      • Mr. Persona Non Grata says :

        Being educated, I DO understand what you’ve said, believe it or not. I’m not blind to the realities of the world around me, and I’m not blind to my position of privilege. What you’re missing here is my point, and you almost reiterated it. I stated all of these things as being problems of our culture and society, how we’re devolving due to the enabling of bad habits, which are made worse by the state of consumerism. To be honest, there are plenty of people who are very frugal with their money, and have no problems getting healthy foods and not just pounding down Wendys or something. I’m well aware that many people can’t just up and move for good reason. I’m also aware of what fat can represent. But can you honestly say that the majority of obese Americans is due to medical/psychological conditions and McDonalds? If that’s really the major cause for obesity in America, and laziness and socially acceptable excuses have so little to do with it, then I will gladly eat my words, pardon the pun. I’ll watch the movie as well. However, logically,since plenty of other countries are loaded with people who have medical and psychological conditions, and nowhere near the obesity rate, I tend to not believe it. Just because I’m “slim”, doesn’t mean I have no right to state what I have seen and experienced in life.

      • Mr. Persona Non Grata says :

        One more thing. My issue with weight actually is about health, whether my language reflects it or not. Don’t believe me, ask my wife. I’ve gone through this with her at great length, and I get angry and frustrated because this issue will eventually cause some of the people whom I care about the most to pass on before their time, and the helplessness I experience due to my lack of control of the situation is what gives birth to my anger. Don’t rope me in with everyone else, I didn’t do that to you.

    • terrylittleny says :

      Dude…stop being such a baby! ;P

  2. Jessica says :

    I don’t want to sound like one of those skinny people or anything, but I see Brian’s point. It is true that many underlying health problems can cause obesity. And yet, there are so many that are caused by just being obese. The most important one, in my opinion, is what I think Brian is trying to get across here: obesity puts strain on your heart. When you are obese, your heart has to work harder to keep you going every day that you are alive. Excess weight also wreaks havoc on your knees, spine, and joints. After years of this strain, more problems arise. The pain makes it harder to get around, and the activity needed for weight loss is no longer possible.
    Now as I said before, I am not obese. I inherited good genes from my parents on that one, but also got the bad: kidney stones, ovarian cysts, hormonal imbalances, depression, anxiety, blood clotting disorders and type 2 diabestes. Bottom line is, take care of yourself. You only get one body, so take the right steps to keep it around!

Leave a Reply

