Bullies on Parade

Although I know you’re all DYING to know how the surgery went, and how the recovery is going, I’ll have to leave you all hanging for the most part. I lived, it went well (doctor’s words, not mine), and misery flourishes life goes on.

I just read an article about a 7 year old who committed suicide because he was being bullied in school. I know that bullying has become a hot subject during the recent years. What I wondered, though, was why all of a sudden is this an issue…

I think back to my earlier years in school. I was horribly bullied from kindergarten (yes, that early) all the way into my more senior years of high school. Beaten up, mocked, laughed at, etc… There really wasn’t much that wasn’t done to me by my “schoolmates”, or even the kids around my neighborhood. I had maybe a small handful of friends during any given year, and wasn’t from the most stable of homes, yet I never even considered killing myself. Maybe it was because I was told to suck it up and deal with it instead of whining that nobody liked me. Maybe I was more rational. Whatever the reasons I may have had for trudging on, what really concerns me is that these children not only know to consider suicide an option, but are so far out of touch with others that they think it’s the only way out.

I think part of what kept me going on, as horrible as it is to admit, was that I was hellbent on revenge. I’d fantasize about it, plot it meticulously, and dream about it at night. I got back at the bullies in other ways. Making them look like idiots in class because they didn’t understand the material. Setting traps in their lockers, or taking all of their textbooks a few weeks before finals and dumping them in a dumpster miles away, it made no difference. Lots of other kids who were bullied felt the same rage, just lacked the resolve stupidity to take action, so I started doing so on their behalf. Eventually, the bullied kids banded together to make the bullies miserable on occasion, but mostly just made us a group, which is much harder for bullies to prey on.

Then came high school, where I made friends with the most unsavory people my district had to offer. There weren’t many, since I actually attended a “good” school system, which meant the jock douchebag bullies outnumbered us. But never underestimate the power of a small group of very dangerous people. Needless to say, the bullies were forced to look elsewhere to get their rocks off, and day after day our ranks grew. Eventually, they got a taste of their own medicine, as they were bullied and mocked and sent crying that their nice new car was ruined the day before prom by ‘persons unknown’.

A huge part of the problem are the parents and teachers who tell kids that they’re entitled to everything and whatnot, that everyone is equal, and that the world is or should be a fair place. Congratulations on giving them a completely unrealistic view on reality. In life, you don’t get a neat little trophy just for playing along. There are no consolation prizes here. It’s sink or swim, and though most parents want to move away from competitiveness, they’re leaving their kids unequipped for the real world. This world is SUPER competitive, and we are starting to have to fight for our basic freedoms, instead of for more freedoms. Don’t leave these children unequipped. Teach them the truth of the world, as much as you can, and keep in mind that you can be competitive and fight for what you want without being disrespectful, conniving, or without honor. And for the love of all that you find holy, TALK to your children. Take an interest in what means something to them. If they think you don’t share similar values, or understand how much something means to them, they won’t even approach you. Help them, or they’ll be left even more open for someone to prey upon.

My advice to the kids of today is this. Don’t fall prey to the cycle of bullying those below you because you’re being bullied. Don’t let the bullies get to you. Find the others who are ridiculed, mocked, humiliated, and bond with them. You don’t have to be friends,  but you also don’t have to be alone. If your parents are shit and you can’t talk to them, find someone else who will listen and talk to them. Other kids who are bullied will understand. Stand up for yourselves. MAKE SOMEONE LISTEN! Killing yourself should not even be an option, because take it from me, seeing those fucks get what they deserve is absolutely worth its weight in gold! You may even find a legal or honorable way of doing it, which is all the more sweet of a victory. They can only hurt you if you let them. Take it from someone who knows.

Tags: , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Taming the wild « Unwanted Criticisms - September 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

