Signing off…..

 ImageSo tomorrow my doctor will break ground in my face, so I will be completely out of commission for a few weeks. Considering that my posts here are few and far between, this probably could have happened and none would be the wiser, but I felt strangely obligated to post this. Or maybe I did it out of boredom while I sit here at work and have been forbidden to access Facebook, a violation of which would result is dismissal…..who knows?!

Yes, you read that correctly. Here’s a little backstory…

WARNING!!! WARNING!!! RANT IMPACT IS IMMINENT!!!!

So they block FB where I work, which is pretty typical for places these days. IT, typically, is somewhat immune to this, though. Not that we’re ‘allowed’ to do it, but our circumvention of the security measures that prevent this type of access is often overlooked willingly.

At my current place of business, they started blocking it because someone was abusing the absolute shit out of it, and they needed to put an end to the loss of productivity. This person has since become a manager.

I saw that the other 3 people in IT here (my boss included) go around the restriction and access FB, so I figured it was the typical situation. This was until the person mentioned above saw my on there and bitched about it in the manager’s meeting. This prompted a visit to the principal’s office.

He asked me if I knew it was blocked. I said yes. He asked if I went there anyway. I said yes. He then said that this would be the last time it would be discussed. Following this incident, at another closed door discussion, I was told that the reason I still don’t have proper access to our environment (after being here 8 fucking months) is because he “doesn’t feel he can trust me”. I asked his reasoning for this. He said (i shit you not), “because I saw you on FB and looking at your cell phone when I passed by”.

Please keep in mind that he NEVER said ANYTHING about:

  1. Me not learning my job quickly or efficiently,
  2. Me making any mistakes,
  3. Me not getting my work done on time, or
  4. Me not pulling my weight.

Maybe it’s just me, but I would think that these would be great reasons to use for not trusting someone. Also, I probably wouldn’t have as much of an issue being banned from FB if the other IN MY DEPT weren’t STILL GOING THERE!!!!

/end rant

 

See you all after my face replacement…..maybe then I’ll be handsome!

 

(note: my face will unfortunately NOT be altered, and thus improved, by this procedure….)

4 responses to “Signing off…..”

  1. David DeMar says :

    Good luck with Doctor Giggles tomorrow. Just remember: be thankful you don’t have to deal with a catheter!

    And to hell with managers who think their shit doesn’t stink.

  2. Jackie R. says :

    What Dave said!

Leave a Reply

