I’m with the band…

So as many of you know, I’m in a band. I sing for a local Hard Rock band who will go unnamed for now. I’ve been singing for local bands since about 2005 or so, performing in both cover bands and original bands.

This all started many moons ago, around 2001 or so, when a close friend asked me to play keyboards in his original band. I joined up, and we worked on some good music for a bunch of years. Unfortunately, as time went on, I realized that my style of play didn’t fit the music very well. Many times it just made a mess of things, and good songs ended up a mess as a result. I left the band due to personal differences, and a bit of shame, in 2005, deciding to take a chance at fronting up a band as a lead vocalist instead. After a very rocky start, I ended up doing some truly awesome projects. 2 great original bands, and one great cover band. It’s seriously been a blast.

Why am I going into all of this? Fucked if I know! I’m pretty much just babbling at this point. A few things I wanted to get across, just to clear up some misconceptions.

I don’t technically consider myself a musician. I hang out with them, and sing with them, but I wouldn’t call myself a musician. Allow me to expand on that. In my opinion, a musician is someone who writes music or plays an instrument. I don’t write music, and I don’t personally consider singing playing an instrument.  (My vocal coach would disagree, and if she reads this I’m in some serious shit…) Anyways, I never found it too easy to write music out of the blue. The few times I have, it came out like ass. Most of the writing in my band now is done by the other members, Fat Hitler, and the One Note Kid. Our drummer, Chocolate, writes his beats and does a pretty kick ass job at that.

My other issue? I’m not one of those crazy frontmen with tons of presence. So many of my friends disagree because they’ve known me for ages, and I used to be an absolute lunatic. Somewhere along the way, I mellowed out in a big way. Nowadays, it’s hard for me to let that person out. Right now, he’s chained up in the basement, and letting him out could have a disastrous outcome. Maybe I’m just being a pussy, and should just allow him out on stage. I’m going to slowly open the door, and let a little out at a time. Otherwise, I’ll probably end up trashing the stage or blowing the fucking place up! Anyways, just figured I’d throw all that out there, cuz it’s been on my mind. Feel free to leave a comment and let me know how stupid I’m being. After all, I’m not blind to the fact that all this is just ridiculous…

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “I’m with the band…”

  1. David DeMar says :

    If you don’t like referring to yourself as a musician, you can always go with “performer.” Though then people are going to think you travel around with the Jim Rose Circus biting the heads off chickens.

  2. Tommy says :

    Let the animal loose. More entertaining for the audience 🙂

Leave a Reply

